inicio mail me! sindicaci;ón

Sunday News:

Sunday, March 18th:
NC State (11) vs. Georgetown (3) - 12:15 pm ET - NCAA - CBS
Manhattan vs. Fairfield - 4:00 pm ET - CIT

Monday, March 19th:
Princeton vs. Pitt - 7:00 pm ET - CBI
Butler vs. Penn - 8:00 pm ET - CBI - HDNet

A long-awaited NCAA Tournament victory behind them, Georgetown plays NC State today with the winner advancing to the Sweet Sixteen.

Pete Carril is quoted in a piece on Hoyas big man Henry Sims.

At yesterday's press conference, John Thompson III referenced the end of Princeton's 1989 loss to Georgetown. It is better if you read what happened then if I spoil by explaining.

The future of Bill Carmody at Northwestern is up in the air.

Remember that Fairfield CIT game I mentioned yesterday? Uh, it is actually taking place today.

Coco said,

March 18, 2012 @ 11:48 am

Jon, et al.--
JTIII's comments about Mourning's alleged foul are nice, and funny, but it is also revisionist history. The final, contested, disputed shot of the Princeton: Georgetown game was taken by Kit Mueller.


Jon Solomon said,

March 18, 2012 @ 12:20 pm

"Revisionist History" seems strong to me. I can see why John said that accidentally (and he was at the game in Providence). Scrabis was blocked on the prior play by Mourning. Can correct him if you like!


Coco said,

March 18, 2012 @ 1:57 pm

Sorry, no attempt to malign the intent of JTIII, only to correct the occasional flaw of memory or a slip of the memory when confronted by an unexpected question. In the heat of moment, he misspoke-- but the Press will print it, and perpetuate erroneous information.

Pretty sure that Kit Mueller still recalls that shot (as pictured here and linked on this site only days ago):

Matt Walter said,

March 18, 2012 @ 2:32 pm

To Coco's point, I seem to recall that the article Jon posted just the other day (See "1989 close call" from Friday News, March 16th - ) attributed the last shot to Scrabis instead of Kit. Scrabis did not get fouled on his shot, which was the second to latst; Mourning just flew and rose at the same time from the free throw line to get a clean block. Of course, I stand by my contention that, if that game were played today, Mourning would not likely have still been in the game at the end because of the punch/elbow he landed on Kit earlier in the game.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.